Working as a longshoreman is a very rewarding career. Not only are you providing for yourself and your family, you also get to enjoy all that Mother Nature has to offer in Louisiana. You are on a dock by the water or on a boat almost every day of the week, which means you get to work outside in some of the most beautiful areas of the state. But, what if you get injured? Here's how to handle an injury working as a longshoreman.
Suffering an injury while working on a boat in Louisiana is never an easy situation to handle. It is imperative that you report the accident and subsequent injury immediately to a supervisor. Even though you technically have 30 days to report, it's still best to report it as soon as you can, so you do not lose out on any workers' compensation benefits owed to you.
After reporting the injury, you should get a medical evaluation or any necessary treatment to ensure that you can heal properly from your injury. Use a Form LS-1, which can be provided by your employer, so medical treatment can be authorized. You are allowed to seek medical care from the doctor of your choice according to the Longshore & Harbor Workers' Compensation Act.
Notice of the injury to your employer should be made in writing. Not only does this protect you, it is also required by the Act. This is done by using Form LS-201. If you fail to report the injury within 30 days, you could receive an exemption if the failure to report was due to extenuating circumstances or your employer's prejudice in receiving notice.
As you can see, being injured as a longshoreman is not much different from suffering an injury at any other type of job. Make sure you document the injury, report it and seek medical attention.